hideout

I built a fort out of all the cushions and pillows I could scrounge,
with a blanket draped across for the roof, and another to wrap around
as I snuggle up inside my shelter, safe and sound
in my foolproof shield against all the chaos that abounds.

My minds sometimes drifts to wonder what is going on out there…
But to venture out and discover for myself – just the thought makes me scared.
Wouldn’t it be foolish to leave the comfort of my private lair
where I am safe and there are no burdens to be bared?

I can no longer tell if it’s day or night;
the walls block the natural light
and I’ve lost all track of time…
but it’s so comfortable here inside
my hideout.

I think I’ll stay here
for life. 

via Daily Prompt: Hideout

2 thoughts on “hideout

Leave a Reply

